Chocolate Gulab Jamuns With Fried Icecream

gulab-jamun

I was pondering on what to prepare as dessert for my nieces who were coming over for the weekend . ( I always fret a lot on desserts, as I am a self proclaimed sweet lover…) . As it’s winter here I  wanted to make a warm dessert.. and finally settled on gulab jamuns..  I used to make gulab jamuns using  the instant powder mix;this time I thought –  let me try it with  milk powder. I found this recipe from Sanjeev Kapoor’s site.. (http://www.sanjeevkapoor.com/instant-gulab-jamun.aspx) But wait, why not give a twist to the normal gulab jamun and make them chocolatey instead (the chocaholic in me smiled… ) . So I modified the recipe a little and made the choco gulab jamun. And topped it with fried icecream…

PS – I should have mentioned in my earlier posts, but better late than never… The beautiful snaps in the blog were taken by my dear brother… This sweet treat is for u big bro…

For the Chocolate Gulab Jamun

Ingredients

  • Milk powder – 1cup + 2 tablespoons
  • Refined flour (maida)  – 1 tablespoon
  • Cocoa powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Soda bicarbonate –  1/4 teaspoon
  • Green cardamom powder – 1/2 teaspoon
  • Ghee 4 teaspoons + to deep fry
  • Sugar 1 cup

Directions

  1. Heat sugar and one cup of water in a pan and cook to make a syrup.
  2. Mix  milk powder, refined flour ,cocoa powder, soda bicarbonate, green cardamom powder and four teaspoons of ghee in a bowl..  (If you want to make normal gulab jamuns, omit the cocoa powder)
  3. Add sufficient water to the milk powder mixture and knead into a soft dough.(You can add milk also to knead the dough)
  4. Divide the dough into small balls.
  5. Heat sufficient ghee in a deep bottomed pan.
  6. Deep fry the jamuns in the ghee on low heat.
  7. When the gulab jamuns are golden brown, drain them.
  8. Put the sugar syrup on  a low simmering fire.
  9. Add the gulab jamuns to the simmering  syrup for  8-10 minutes.
  10. Transfer to the gulab jamuns and the syrup to a dish

For The Fried Icecream

  1. Keep the icecream at room  temperature till it begins to defreeze.
  2. Scoop out balls of icecream and roll them in flour.
  3. Keep the floured icecream balls back into the freezer for about 2 hours.
  4. Heat oil in a deep bottomed pan and deep fry the icecream balls . (Take out the icecream balls before they start to melt.)

Serve  the hot jamuns with the fried icecream and chocalate sauce.

P.S : I am  sending this as an entry to Delicious Desserts event hosted by What’s Cooking today!!

and to AWED Indian Cuisine Event hosted by Umm Mymoonah of  Taste of Pearl City , started by DK of Chef In You

and to Indian Mithai Mela at What’s Cooking by Kalyani

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Gulab Jamuns With Fried Icecream

Leave a comment