VEGETABLE CUTLET

Vegetable Cutlets It’s very difficult to make my kids eat the veggies..  Is it because I never tried to forcibly feed them ? That thought is something which worries me these days.. And now I am on a look out for recipes where I can hide the veggies and feed the kids One way to hide the veggies is in the form of cutlets.  I made the veg cutlets with beetroot, carrot and potatoes.  Kids love to have chicken cutlets.. but vegetable cutlets.. hmm I was not so sure.. Vegetable Cutlets But to my surprise and relief, these veg cutlets  became a favourite with them … Mission accomplished, as both mom and kids are happy !!! 🙂 These cutlets are a good tea time snack. You can prepare the cutlets in bulk and freeze them . Defrost and fry them as required. Vegetable Cutlets4

VEGETABLE CUTLETS

INGREDIENTS

  • Onion – 2
  • Ginger – 1/4 ” piece
  • Garlic – 3 cloves
  • Beetroot – 1 big
  • Carrots – 2
  • Potatoes – 2
  • Chilly powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
  • Garam Masala – 1/2 tsp
  • Egg whites – 2
  • Breadcrumbs – for coating
  • Oil – for frying

METHOD

  1. Chop onion, ginger and garlic
  2. Chop the beetroot and carrots .  ( Chopped vegetables will be about 3 1/2 cups)
  3. Boil the potatoes and mash them well.
  4. Heat oil in a pan. Add chopped onions and saute till it turns light brown
  5. Add the chopped ginger and garlic and saute for 3 minutes.
  6. Add the chilly ,turmeric and garam masala and saute .
  7. Mix in  the chopped vegetables and saute till the vegetables are cooked. Turn off the flame.
  8. Add the mashed potatoes and mix well using your hands. (The mixture should hold shape when rolled into balls).
  9. Take small portions of the mixture and roll into lime sized ball .Flatten it between the palms to give it shape .
  10. Beat egg whites with a fork. Dip each cutlet in egg white and roll in breadcrumbs, making sure that all sides are nicely coated.
  11. Heat oil in pan and fry the cutlets in medium flame  till they are golden brown (You can deep fry or shallow fry the cutlets) .

Vegetable Cutlets6

2 thoughts on “VEGETABLE CUTLET

  1. My boy turned one and some days he eats without fuss and somedays he doesn’t. I get worried, but turns out, it’s just a phase. Funny thing is, I was always a fussy eater and look at me now, food blogging LOL! Your idea is brilliant and force feeding, I never do that. It only takes them away from food.

Leave a comment