Espresso Coffee Cream Cake


It was our wedding anniversary 2 weeks back  and I thought of baking an anniversary special cake  .. As my hubby is not  so fond of chocolate I was left with two choices – praline or coffee … I zeroed in on the coffee …


A few months back my friend had introduced me to this wonderful blog ,Passionate About Baking… I was totally mesmerized by the recipes and the snaps in the blog. I really wanted to try one of the recipes and was waiting for the right occasion.. Well, what’s more special than our anniversary.. I selected the Espresso Coffee Cream Cake.


The process involved while making the cake – beating the eggs over hot simmering water – was a first time for me.  Though not sure if I was doing it right ,I went through the whole process exactly as mentioned in the recipe… and the end result was just fabulous !!!  My hubby was really impressed and so were my parents and brother who had come over for the weekend…


Thank you Deeba for sharing this wonderful recipe..I was literally over the moon when I received your mail


Recipe Source
SIMPLE COFFEE GENOISE 

  • 4 large eggs (If the eggs are medium sized, add an extra egg yolk)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp instant espresso powder (I used nestle coffee powder as I didn’t have espresso …)
  • 1 cup flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C. Line the bottom and sides of a 8″ spring form round tin. Grease and dust with flour.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar over a bowl of simmering hot water for about 5 minutes till thick and mousse  like.
  3. Take off water and continue to beat till the mixture cools down, about 5-7 minutes. Add the espresso and beat in again for a minute.
  4. Fold the flour into the mousse batter gently, in 3 goes, using the  cut and fold method till it’s mixed through well. Be careful not to release the beaten in air.
  5. Take a cup of this batter in another bowl, and mix the melted cooled butter through it. Now gently fold this back into the rest of the batter.
  6. Turn the batter into the prepared baking tin, and bake for 30-35 minutes, till a tester comes out clean.

Filling:

  • 1 tbsp coffee dissolved in 3 tbsp water with 1 tbsp sugar
  • 400ml low fat cream
  • 2 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp coffee essence {or 1 tsp instant coffee}

Method:

  1. Whip together the cream, sugar, and coffee essence till medium peaks form.
  2. Brush each side of the cake with the coffee syrup, and sandwich with the filling. Reserve any remaining cream for garnishing the top.

Topping:

  • 300ml low fat cream
  • 2-3 tbsp vanilla powdered sugar
  • 1 scant tbsp instant espresso powder
  • Dark chocolate for garnishing

Method:

Whip together until stiff peaks form. Frost the sides of the cake first, and then the top. Garnish as desired.

Sending this to the Tried and Tested Event by Lakshmi guest hosted by Jayasri of Samayal Arai

5 thoughts on “Espresso Coffee Cream Cake

  1. Can you believe I’ve never made a coffee cake before? Just a trifle with coffee drizzled on the cake but never an actual cake. This sounds and looks delicious, I might just try this one out.

    Love your finishing touches on the cake, really gives it character. 🙂

  2. Hi dear sorry for the late reply, I have received both of your entries, thanks for sending them both, you have done such a good job love. thanks very much for sending the entries..

Leave a Reply

