Zebra Cake For A Birthday

Kids’ birthdays fall within a gap of 5 days. I wanted to bake a birthday cake for the elder one, but he rejected the proposal as he wanted Harry Potter cake from bakery.. Disheartened I focused on the younger one’s birthday cake (atleast he wasn’t old enough to turn down  mamma’s cake … ) I was planning to make a fondant cake for quite some time ( inspired by Dina’s fondant cakes and Dima’s blogpost on how to cover cake with fondant ) … I decided to make a zebra cake as it would make hubby  (who doesn’t like chocolate) eat some …

The cake came out well… But in retrospect I could have doubled the quantity to make the cake bigger.. I applied a coating of whipped cream and kept the cake in fridge for about an hour.

As it was my first attempt on fondant , I had planned to keep it simple… Light blue cake with orange polka dots.. I was okay with the result, but when I showed it to my elder son, his reply was “Oh this is a baby cake!!! Doesn’t look good!!!”.. hmphhhh !!! I pulled out all the orange circles, rolled each into small roses and fixed them back.. Though not quite impressed , the kid was okay with the final result..

But the biggest disappointment came when both kids didn’t like the taste of fondant 😦 .. They wanted the cake, but  without the icing please !!! Huh…  I think I should stick back to old whipped cream frosting for sometime …

The recipe for the cake is the same that I used in Checkerboard Cake…  Only the method is different.

Ingredients

  • Butter – 1 cup
  • Granulated Sugar – 2 cups
  • Eggs, yolk and white separated – 4
  • Flour – 3 cups
  • Baking powder – 4 tsp
  • Salt – ¾ tsp
  • Milk – 1 1/2 cup
  • Cocoa – 4 tbsp
  • Boiling water – 5tbsp
  • Baking soda – 1/8 tsp
  • Almond essence – ¼ tsp
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Method

  1. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Powder the sugar.
  2. Using an electric beater,  cream the butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating after adding each.
  3. Add 1/2 of the flour and mix it into the batter using your hand. Add ½ cup milk and mix again. Repeat the process with the remaining flour and milk. Add vanilla essence.
  4. Add cocoa powder and baking soda to boiling water and mix well.
  5. Divide the batter into 2  halves… To one part add cocoa mixture.
  6. Pour a big ladle of plain batter to the middle of the prepared cake tin.  Then pour a big ladle of cocoa batter into center of the plain batter. Again pour a ladle of plain batter to the center of the cocoa batter. Repeat this alternately so that you get concentric circles of plain batter and the cocoa batter.  (The batter will spread out evenly by itself…)
  7. Bake in a preheated oven at 180C  till a tester comes out clean (around 30 min)

Sending this to Bakefest hosted by Vardhini at Zesty Palette

 

30 thoughts on “Zebra Cake For A Birthday

  1. Glad to see your post,Najla.The zebra cake looks fab.you make it sound so easy.Should try making one.My kids will love it.BTW,your kids are not to blame,even me and my kids hate icing and fondant.But it’s so pretty on the cake.

  2. btw we used to make with sour cream too – it was ding a little sour taste and consistency was a bit moist – in case if I will find the old recipe my mother had – i will post it 🙂

  3. wonderful effort… and it really shows on the cake! can’t blame the kids about the icing… though nice to work with fondant (according to me) is not a yummy creamy kind of icing. I had made a garden cake for my daughter’s 2nd birthday and thought the fondant icing was largely wasted once the cake was cut. the garden insects which i made with marzipan was eaten up by the kids. hate to put links into comments but wanted to share the garden cake experience – http://www.eatwritethink.com/2008/12/over-the-edge-and-back/

  4. Lovely fondant icing.. Nijla… For the first time .. its a great turn out…
    I m yet to have my first score.. this is definitely an inspiration… I have never done one.. and a bit worried on the end score..

  5. Awesome job! it is not easy to cover a cake with fondant for the first time 🙂 you did super! I love the actual cake underneath, looks delicious…
    It is quite challenging sometimes to please different age groups, and of course for an older child it would seem a little too young, at the end of the day when they are older, they are looking for more action. But I think the cake looks awesome so be proud, you did it!
    Fondant is made out of sugar and is not super delicious quite frankly! it is a sugar overdose! It is more for decoration really. so don’t feel offended that your kids did not like it, on the contrary be very happy, as this means they have good palates (who do not appreciate over sweet flavours).

    I am glad to have been able to inspire you, and really like your cake. Thumbs up xx

    • Thanks a lot Dima!! You are absolutely right , it is difficult to please the boys as they grow up :)… I think I should learn to make some figures ( like Harry Potter ) with fondant or marzipan , before their next birthday (and use whipped cream for icing) 🙂 …

  6. I don’t know if you used store bought fondant or if you made it yourself, but either way, me and everyone in my family greatly prefers the taste of marshmallow fondant or MMF to regular fondant – it works almost exactly the same way and is super easy to make with a bag of marshmallows. Might be worth giving it a try sometime?
    Anyway, your cake is lovely; I saw it on foodgawker and had to click over! The colors are so pretty!

Leave a comment